Wedding Season Lookbook

Hi guys!!!

 

God, I missed blogging to death!! I had, literally, a lot going on. Like, seriously a lot on both the professional and the personal front. I had my hands full and hence chose to give blogging the backseat. But now, I am back home, for good!! Ludhiana it is for the next 4-5 months. Bid goodbye to Bengaluru (yayyy!!). Enjoying family time. Life is like a fairy-tale, once again šŸ™‚

 

So, that was a little life update. Now back to business!

 

It’s like the end of August. And, Fall means the advent of wedding season in India. So, today I’ll share two easy looks that you can try for wedding parties. They both are my absolute favorites and are head-turners! So, without further ado, let’s go for it, shall we?!!

 

LOOK 1-

 

This look I wore for my cousin’s engagement party. This dress was my brainchild. There was a beautiful green saree lying in my mum’s closet. So, I got it stitched as a suit. I’m a sucker for bandhgalas. And I knew the exact thing I wanted from this saree. Its brocade pallu was made into a beautiful bandhgala and the rest of the saree was used to make long, churidar sleeves and a front slit. And to tone down on the bottle green color, I paired it with a custom-made golden palazzo. But now that I think, golden cigarette pants would have looked good as well! One quick tip: Invest in a gorgeous golden dupatta in your wardrobe. Seriously, it is a multi-utility piece. You can team it up with suits, lehengas and what not. It can instantly lift up the whole look. I found this golden fabric with glitter on it and chose a cutwork patti to go with it. To finish it off, these gorgeous latkans gave this dupatta a nice fall. So yeah. This was the whole look.WP_20160619_12_26_47_ProWP_20160619_12_27_00_ProWP_20160619_12_28_26_Pro

 

I wanted the bandhgala to stand out. So, for hair I went for a half-updo. I got these dreamy curls on the end that complimented my highlights. Then, it was sectioned-off. The bigger section was braided into a lace-braid and the smaller section was twisted into three parts and pinned up. I loved my hairdo!! And by the way, I didn’t do this myself (in case it isn’t obvious :D). I got ready from a salon. The makeup was not that perfect. I am not a fan of gawdy makeups. It is kinda smokey. But, as I said earlier, it is way too out of my league!!! For jewelry, I just wore these golden chandbalis that I got from a mall in Bengaluru. I find these balis to be really versatile and they remind me of the similar ones worn by Deepika Padukone in Ram-LeelaWP_20160619_12_27_41_ProWP_20160619_12_27_46_ProWP_20160619_12_27_52_ProWP_20160619_12_28_12_Pro

 

LOOK 2:

 

This look was a dream-come-true for me!! Ever since I saw Sonam Kapoor walk the red carpet in Cannes wearing a peach-ish Anamika Khanna dhoti saree, I knew for sure that I’ll try this look. And so I did šŸ˜‰ To be honest, I wanted it to be a bit sassy šŸ˜‰ But, at the same time, fuss-free. I didn’t want to get a blouse stitched. So, I got this lace crop top which was hanging at the store just for me (I like to think that way!). My sister sent this serene white saree to me. I was literally awestruck! White is like my all-time favorite color. I can live in white forever. No, not at all exaggerating!

IMG_20160810_161622IMG_20160810_161626IMG_20160810_161629IMG_20160810_162230

 

For hair, I wanted the look to be effortless yet chic. So, I sectioned off my hair into a deep side part, braided the smaller part into a dutch braid and tucked it under the hair. For makeup, I chose a combination of golden and green eye-shadow and gave my eyes a slight smokey effect. To top it off, I went with a winged eyeliner and smudged a bit of kajal on my lower lash-line to widen them. A bit of defined brows and lots of mascara completed the whole eye look. For lips, I got this stunning red-orange lipstick with excellent pigmentation and it stayed off till the end of the day. I don’t have a picture of my makeup, but I’m putting this group shot which will give you an idea.

IMG_20160810_172732

IMG_20160810_182322

 

Now, for the star of this look: the choker. It is what made the whole look stand out!! I went completely minimal on the accessories with just a simple choker necklace (which I’m obsessed with!!!), pearl studs and a simple watch. To complete the look, I chose these gold-detailed black wedges which went perfectly with the outfit.

IMG_20160810_162441IMG_20160810_170052

 

So, next time you’re howling over what to wear, keep these rules in mind:

a. Minimal is the key.

b. Hair and makeup can glam up ANY outfit.

c. It is all how you carry the look!

 

Happy wedding season my dolls!!!

 

OUTFIT DETAILS:

LOOK 1: Dress: Custom-made from a saree, Shoes– Flipkart, Chandbalis– Gaurda Mall (Bengaluru).

LOOK 2: Saree– Meena Bazaar, Crop top– Forever 21, Choker necklace– Forever 21, Wedges– Catwalk, Shades– Forever 21

 

XOXO,

H ā¤ 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

