Ethnic Power-Dressing: 3 Ways

Power-dressing is chic but tricky. Since childhood, I had this dream to work in an environment where I could wear Pant-Suits and crisp cotton sarees. I have an undisputed bias towards blazers. I don’t know, but I feel that blazers add a whole lot of elegance into your otherwise boring outfit.

 

But living in India, employed by a Public Sector Bank, I cannot experiment much with corporate wear. And that too in sizzling, hot summers of South India!

 

But, I like to accept every style related challenge πŸ˜‰

 

So, lemme share with you my three go-to looks for power-dressing when it comes to ethnic wear. These super-comfy and elegant looks will ensure that you look not only groomed, but high on the fashion charts when you enter your workplace!

 

Let’s get it started!

 

LOOK 1-

 

Well, the moment I saw this kurta, I fell in love with it. I don’t like to experiment much with prints. Big prints don’t go well with my personality and frankly speaking, my body structure, too. But this surreal printed kurta was an instant eye-catcher! Cotton kurtas have been the best bet for corporate women. But now, with big brands foraying into non-cotton kurtas for work-wear, Indian women have a reason to rejoice!
image

image

image

 

I personally like Chinese collars or something that is not below my collar bone. But sadly, it had a round and comparatively deep neck. To counter that, I went for a sea-green cotton dupatta. And navy blue leggings completed the whole look!

 

With this outfit, I like to tie my hair in a bun. There are two reasons: no worry for heat-styling my hair and well, DAMAGING them and secondly, buns are chic, aren’t they? I went for a french-fishtail braid on the front sections of my hair, followed by three-strand braids on the two sides of the parting, which were wrapped around a low bun, resting on the nape of my neck. PHEW!image

image

 

LOOK 2-

 

Straight cotton kurtas have been there for centuries (just exaggerating!). I like to do the classicΒ kurta-leggings look with a twist (well, sort of). Westside has been offering a wide range of A-line kurtas, lately. They are in all kinds of colors and prints. This one particularly caught my eye, because, well, for starters, it is PINK!

image

image

image

 

 

And, that gold print on the back, tho!!image

image

 

I will not lie and try to steal the credit for the choice of leggings. My mum chose this color, dark sea-greenISH. It is not at all gawdy, but very noticeable! Genius, isn’t she?

 

With this, I wore my hair down on one side. Any guesses, why? Well, the back of this kurta is love!! πŸ˜‰

image

image

 

 

LOOK 3-

 

This is a little unconventional look to fit into ‘Power-Dresssing’. But it is one of my favorites! It speaks tonnes of my home-state πŸ˜‰ I have always liked phulkari, a traditional embroidery technique which originated in Punjab, India. So, to use that as a work-wear element was challenging, but fun! And the end result is for you to witness! I chose a front-slit white kurta with white embroidery on it and plain cotton palazzo pants. I instructed my tailor to stitch a fitted kurta. And this suit is one of my favorite pieces to pick from my closet!image

image

 

 

Well, this phulkari is the centerpiece of this look so I have toned down every other thing; shoes, accessories and hair. For this look I wore my hair down.

image

image

 

OUTFIT 1– Kurta, dupatta and leggings- Soch, ballerinas- Parfois (Myntra)

OUTFIT 2– Kurta- Westside, leggings- Local (Ludhiana)

OUTFIT 3– Phulkari, kurta and palazzos- Custom made (Ludhiana)

 

So, the conclusion is- your work-wear doesn’t have to be boring. Try out new things! Experiment! My mantra is, if we are happy with our outfit, we will be more energetic the whole day! Our outfit adds confidence to our personality. So, spend a little extra time in the morning Β my lovelies and set the stage on fire πŸ˜‰

 

XOXO,

H ❀

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on DeepHasi and commented:
    That’s what we call The Fashion Statement πŸ™‚
    You look perfect in all the three ethnic wear dresses and your hair style add power to them.
    Here what we called the start of the Fashion blog and I wish, I know it will go on and on forever to the heights..
    You are the best and just keep up your style show at the best.
    I am really happy and can’t express in words.
    Just want to say thanks for coutureandcroissants giving it a good start.
    Hope people will get much out of these posts and will get the perfect fashion touch πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. That’s what we call The Fashion Statement πŸ™‚
    You look perfect in all the three ethnic wear dresses and your hair style add power to them.
    All are my favourate but that 2 and 3rd outfit are just my what I like the most. Because of pink colour may be..
    Here what we called the start of the Fashion blog and I wish, I know it will go on and on forever to the heights..
    You are the best and just keep up your style show at the best.
    I am really happy and can’t express in words.
    Just want to say thanks for coutureandcroissants giving it a good start.
    Hope people will get much out of these posts and will get the perfect fashion touch πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

